Japan Times: Tokyo’s urban design role

The Japan Times published my op-ed article “Tokyo’s urban design role.” My argument is that Tokyo’s past urban design failures paradoxically make it a model for rebuilding existing cities and designing hundreds of emerging cities. In the context of climate change and global warming, livable cities can create a new balance between people and  nature.

I talk about fireflies, Ginza rice and honeybees, modern bonsai, satoyama in the city, businesses and biodiversity, and how Japan can promote innovations in urban life, alongside achievements in popular culture and high technology.

2 comments

  1. Fantastico! Wonder if you’re familiar with the Long Now Foundation, based here in SF at Fort Mason. I’ve recently joined. http://www.longnow.org. If you want to go visit and perhaps chat with Stewart Brand next time you’re in town, I’d be happy to try to facilitate. I don’t have any “clout” but I’m a card-carrying member. That has to count for something, right? 😉

Leave a comment